FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE



Contact:
Steve Broadbent
Chief Operating Officer
520-547-3440
sbroadbent@c-path.org
www.c-path.org

CRITICAL PATH INSTITUTE ANNOUNCES NEW BOARD MEMBERS

Tucson, Arizona, March 25, 2012 – Critical Path Institute (C-Path) is proud to welcome four new board members who were recently elected to serve three-year terms (2012-2015). Joining the board are D. Craig Brater, MD, Dean, Indiana University School of Medicine; Samuel Broder, MD, Executive Vice President and Chief Medical Officer, Celera Genomics; James C. Greenwood, President and CEO of the Biotechnology Industry Organization (BIO); and Richard T. Myers, Jr., Regent, Arizona Board of Regents. Current board member, Peter B. Corr, PhD, General Partner, Celtic Therapeutics, LLLP, was named as the new Chairman of the Board.

The new appointees join current board members, **Thorir D. Bjornsson**, **MD**, **PhD**, Executive Director, Critical Path to TB Drug Regimens, Critical Path Institute; **J. Lyle Bootman**, **PhD**, **ScD**, Senior Vice President for Health Services, University of Arizona; **ShaAvhree Buckman**, **MD**, **PhD**, Director, Office of Translational Sciences, Center for Drug Evaluation and Research, U.S. Food and Drug Administration (non-voting, advisory); **John L. Carter**, **MBA**, Retired – Executive Vice President/CFO, Burr-Brown Corporation, and General Manager, IBM Tucson; **Carolyn Compton**, **MD**, **PhD**, **President and CEO**, **Critical Path Institute**; **M. Wainwright Fishburn**, **Jr.**, Partner, Cooley LLP; **Jeffrey E. Jacob**, **SM**, CEO, Cancer Prevention Pharmaceuticals, LLC; **Michael Kasser**, **MBA**, **PhD**, President and CEO, Holualoa Companies; **Shaun A. Kirkpatrick**, **MA**, President and CEO, Research Corporation Technologies, Inc.; **The Honorable James T. Kolbe**, Senior Transatlantic Fellow, German Marshall Fund U.S., and Former Arizona Congressman; **Cindy Parseghian**, President, Ara Parseghian Medical Research Foundation; **Alastair J.J. Wood**, **MB**, **ChB**, Managing Director, Symphony Capital, LLC; and **Janet Woodcock**, **MD**, Director, Center for Drug Evaluation and Research, U.S. Food and Drug Administration (non-voting, advisory).

"We are extremely fortunate to add these four extraordinary individuals to an already world-class, board that is representative of the diverse, collaborative nature of C-Path and our programs," said Dr. Carolyn Compton, C-Path President and CEO. "Their collective expertise will help guide the organization in its continued mission to bring industry, academia, and government together to develop standards and practices that will accelerate the translation of scientific discovery through the product development pipeline, regulatory approval, and post-market uses."

For full biosketches of the C-Path Board of Directors, click here.

###

public and private philanthropic support from the Southern Arizona community, Science Foundation Arizona (SFAz), and the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), C-Path is committed to improving health and saving lives by accelerating the development of safe, effective medicines. An international leader in forming collaborations around this mission, C-Path has established global, public-private partnerships that currently include over 1,000 scientists from government regulatory agencies, academia, patient advocacy organizations, and thirty five major pharmaceutical companies. C-Path is headquartered in Tucson, Arizona, with an office in Rockville, Maryland. For more information, visit www.c-path.org and follow us on Facebook. Click here to view a video showing why the work of C-Path is essential.

The C-Path Vision: Creating collaborations that advance scientific innovations to improve human health and save lives by accelerating the development of safe, effective medicines.